Skip to content

Summertime Adventures

August 30, 2010

Photo courtesy of "The New York Escapist"

Yes, I am still here but summertime brings with it lots of activities to keep this foodie busy.  A highlight was spending a long weekend in Newport, RI.  It was my first time there, and I loved it–a definite must for anyone within reach of the island.

If you find yourself in Newport, I recommend that you eat at Scales and Shells.  As the name suggests, this is a seafood restaurant that serves incredibly fresh fish in a no-nonsense setting.  I had mussels to start, which were in a garlic broth that was a meal in itself soaked into bread.  I followed that with grilled lobster, which was also such a treat since lobster in New York tends to exceed my budget.  To further take advantage of eating as much lobster as possible, another day we headed down to Newport’s Aquidneck Lobster Co.  This is essentially a warehouse of lobster and other seafood that you can buy by the pound.  My friends and I picked-up an assortment of lobsters, clams, salmon, and swordfish here and spent an evening cooking up this feast.  It was super affordable (the lobsters were about $7/pound) and a really nice way to spend an evening with friends.  To learn more about our trip and other ideas for Newport, you can go here at The New York Escapist.

Union Square

Another summertime adventure was a photography class that I took.  The two month course ended with an exhibition of our work–basically a slight upgrade from hanging our work on mom’s refrigerator.  We chose a subject to focus our work on, and of course the foodie that I am had to choose something food related.  So coffee was my subject.  Needless to say, I spent several weekend afternoons completely high and shaking off of caffeine overloads as I went from cafe to cafe.  I also had the treat of seeing a close friend of mine who lives in Boston.  She recently came back from a trip that included hiking around the mountains in Peru.  With coffee on my mind from my photography class, I was especially fascinated to see her pictures of coffee beans—as in the beans right off the plant.  She was kind enough to let me share them with you.  Did you know that coffee beans are actually creamy white in their raw form?

In the mountains of Peru the beans are picked out of their pods and, then they are laid out to dry on blankets in the sun.After the beans are dried through, they are gathered and placed in a heavy cast iron skillet.  Next, the skillet is set over an open fire to start the roasting process.The beans are roasted over the fire until they reach a deep, rich brown.  This roasting process enriches the flavor, and the beans are now ready to be ground and made into coffee.Isn’t that so fascinating?  I know that there are some coffee roasters nearby New York in the Hudson River Valley, so I am now hoping to make a visit and learn more!

Meanwhile back in New York, my friend Sonya and I hosted a dinner party at her beautiful apartment.  I loved being able to cook in a spacious kitchen and serve dinner at an actual dining room table that comfortably sat our eight guests (at my place, dinner parties mean my friends kindly sit on the floor around the coffee table).  We served a yummy Lemon and Rosemary Chicken dish that I think is a must for your next dinner party.  It was super tasty and quite easy.  You can find the recipe for it here from Saveur Magazine.

Now I am off to pick up the ingredients to make Watermelon-Mint Popsicles.  Summertime may be almost over, but that doesn’t mean I can’t still make the most of it!

Cheers

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    August 30, 2010 7:15 pm

    I love hearing about all of your adventures! That chicken looks absolutely delicious, and I hope that I can be one of your future dinner party guests sometime soon (even if that means that I have to sit around your coffee table). :)

  2. Emily permalink
    August 31, 2010 8:51 am

    Great post Kristin! Of course, I especially love the photography. I’m so glad that you had a wonderful summer!

  3. September 13, 2010 11:36 pm

    I would love to try those Watermelon-Mint popsicles! Thanks for the shout out and look forward to hearing more of The Pearl Onion’s food adventures (hopefully ones that I am a part of….!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

