Skip to content

Sinfully Delightful Hot Chocolate Milk

December 20, 2009

Ahh, finally it has snowed in New York!  Not only did it snow, but it poured down out of the sky blanketing the city with oodles of fluffy whiteness.  I just love it.  The city all of a sudden becomes so peaceful and quiet.  The sounds of traffic are replaced with the comforting sound of snow crunching underneath my feet and the wind blowing through the trees and buildings.

This morning I woke up early so that I could walk around the neighborhood and enjoy all the snow before it is plowed away.  The West Village was as peaceful as ever and filled with dogs and their owners playing in the snow.  I saw one dog who was going crazy with excitement, and his owner exclaimed, “It’s his first time to see snow!”  Seriously, is there any other better way to start a beautiful winter day?  The grin on my face just got bigger from there.

Here are some more pictures from my walk (if you click on the first picture, it will take you to a slide show that you can click through)…

After my exhilarating walk in the snow, it was time to retreat back to the warmth of my home.  Here I made the most amazing hot chocolate I have ever tasted.  A while back I remembered Ina Garten making a hot chocolate on her show that looked amazingly rich and tasty—so rich and tasty, that it was best to save for a special occasion.  This was the perfect day.

I really encourage all of you to make this sinfully good drink—whether you make it as an annual holiday tradition or for the first big snowfall—this is a really special hot chocolate.  It’s the type of drink that takes you back to being a child as you savor every sip and warm up with an overwhelming feeling of comfort.  It is just that good!

I changed Ina’s recipe a little bit.  She calls for half and half mixed with whole milk, but that seemed a bit too sickening rich for me so I only used whole milk.  I also halved the recipe (makes 2 servings below) and garnished it with whipped cream (the real stuff, folks) and chocolate flakes.

Please do make this and let me know how you like it!

  • 2 1/4 cups whole milk
  • 2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 2 ounces milk chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp instant espresso or coffee powder
  • Whipped cream and chocolate flakes (for garnish)
  1. Heat the milk in a saucepan on medium heat to just below the simmering point.
  2. Remove the pan from the heat and add both chocolates.
  3. When the chocolates are melted, add the sugar, vanilla extract, and espresso and whisk vigorously.
  4. Reheat gently and serve immediately. Top with whipped cream sprinkled with chocolate flakes.

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    December 20, 2009 4:47 pm

    These photos are absolutely amazing! I know I keep saying that, but I am in awe. NYC looks beautiful in the snow. Wish I was with you drinking some of that hot chocolate right now.

Leave a Reply

