Skip to content

Pimento Cheese Grilled Sandwiches

December 28, 2009

Pimento cheese sandwiches are a common item in the lunch boxes of kids throughout the South. Who knows who came up with this odd combo, but the cheddar cheese and pimentos flavors are excellent together–bold, rich and filled with flavor.

Since this is so easy to make, I usually see it used for a quick sandwich in casual situations.  It is the ultimate comfort food— coupled with tomato soup, it is pure perfection.  For nicer occasions, serve the spread with crackers.  Yum!

Here is how you can make it (for about 5 sandwiches, measurements below are a rough estimates— just go with what tastes and looks right for you):

  • 10 oz extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup diced pimentos
  • Hot sauce
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • Butter
  • Slices of bread

  1. Mix the cheese with about this much mayonnaise:
  2. Add in the diced pimentos, hot sauce, cayenne pepper, and Worcestershire sauce and mix well.
  3. Place a grill pan or skillet over medium high heat.  As the pan is heating up, spread the pimento cheese on slices of bread and butter the outsides.  Grill in pan and serve.  (You can also skip this step.)

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:22 am

    I cannot wait to make this Kristin! One of my favorite sandwiches but I have never made it at home…thank you!

  2. December 30, 2009 1:57 pm

    Hi…I found your blog while doing some research on how to structure ours..and found that you are a fan of Irving Farm Coffee. Thank you. I also love your Sinfully Delightly hot chocolate recipe, I actually use Sinful Delight and chocolate to make mine (my 15 year old discovered it…she calls it her sinful mocha).
    Please visit us on Facebook, twitter and our soon to be published blog…(it will be a wordpress blog too)

  3. December 30, 2009 5:47 pm

    Laura–Thanks for your comment. The sandwich is also yummy if you add tomato to it!

    Donna–Yes, I love Irving Farm coffee and am actually already a fan on Twitter! I love that it is local and the coffee bean quality is sooo good–I can definitely tell a difference from other coffees. I am at your Chelsea location every weekend for my freshly brewed cup and a bagel, and during the week I am brewing it in my french press. I am now a big fan of the Brazilian one (forget the exact name). Anyway, thanks for your note!

Leave a Reply

