Skip to content

String Bean, Leek and Potato Soup

January 28, 2010

Do you ever have those days when you swear that from hereon you will only eat super healthy and light dishes?  You dwell on the need to finally take control and start feeling good and fitting back into those skinny jeans?  And you dream about the day you can wear a bikini and turn heads (and not due to excess cellulite)?  Yea, me too.  But, ugh, how freaking boring of a life would that be without cheese, ice cream, and pizza???

Well, despite knowing that I could never be one of those folks who nibble on celery every meal, I am trying to incorporate more healthy dishes into my diet these days.  I want to start feeling healthier.  And if you saw me wolfing down all the dishes at Choptank last night, you would also understand why today in particular I felt that urge for a nice, light and healthy dinner.

Today was also particularly cold (it is 27º as I type this) with a surprise snow storm, so I was especially craving soup for my light meal.  The thought of curling up on my couch with a bowl of vegi soup sounded so perfect.  Even the process of making the soup sounded so comforting.  The chopping.  The simmering.  The tasting.  I find it all so relaxing.

I strolled over to the market and moseyed around the produce for ideas and landed my eyes on the string beans.  I needed some substance and found some darling, little yukon potatoes and grabbed them.  From there I eyed the leeks.  Ahh, the perfect combination.  I had my soup.

I just finished it and it was just what I was looking for.  Light, tasty, comforting, and healthy.

So here it is for 2 servings:

  • 1 leek
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 1/2 lb small yukon potatoes, chopped to bite size
  • 3 to 4 cups chicken stock
  • 4 sprigs fresh thyme
  • Parmesan rind (optional)
  • 5 oz fresh string beans, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Parsley for garnish
  • Fresh Parmesan
  1. Trim the dark green part off of the leek leaving only the white and light green leaves. Also trim off the other end’s roots. Cut the leek in half length-wise. Then cut width-wise into centimeter-wide pieces. Place these pieces into a colander or strainer and rinse under water to rid all dirt. Shake excess water off of leeks.
  2. Over medium-low heat, add the olive oil, leek, and celery to a saucepan.  Saute until the celery begins to look translucent.
  3. Add the potatoes, stock, sprigs of thyme and optional Parmesan rind.  Raise heat to high and cover.  Once it comes to a boil, lower heat to a simmer.
  4. Simmer until the potatoes are about 5 minutes from being done (for me, this took about 15 minutes).  Add the string beans and continue to simmer until the string beans and potatoes are done.
  5. Season with salt and pepper, if necessary.
  6. Discard the stems from the thyme.
  7. Serve garnished with parsley and shaved Parmesan cheese on top.

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Johnf429 permalink
    May 26, 2014 4:24 pm

    Im not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later. Cheers dagaefbbgdke

Leave a Reply

