Skip to content

Richmond, VA Restaurants

February 21, 2010

Last weekend some friends and I jumped in a car and drove down to Richmond, VA to visit our friend, Laura.  Laura is the proud new mother of a beautiful little girl.  We spent a very lazy weekend getting to know her baby, watching the Olympics, and just catching up.  However, we did manage to leave the house a few times for some food.  Since it was Valentine’s Day weekend and we had a group of seven, our options were a bit limited but Laura took us to some great little places.

The first night out we went to a place in her neighborhood called Kuba Kuba.  This is a Cuban restaurant that looks like it has been around for ages.  It’s very casual and laid-back, and I suspect that it’s a great place for breakfast:

The following day we had lunch at Chiocca’s–the best sandwich place I think I have ever been to.   This is a super local, old place wuth loads of local culture.  Of course I was so excited when my sandwich arrived that I forgot to take a picture of it, but I did get some pics of the atmosphere:

In the evening we headed to one of the best, new restaurants in Richmond–Balliceaux.  Due to it being Valentine’s Day, we had no chance of getting a reservation for dinner so instead we went for pre-dinner drinks.  The cocktails and atmosphere were definitely up to New York standards.  My favorite was the cocktail made with gin mixed with lavender infused honey and lemon juice.  I could have had 5 of those if my friends hadn’t minded carrying me out.

Our last stop was dinner at Pie.  This is also a new place across the street from Ballicauex.  As the name suggests, they make pizza.  The toppings were creative and good, though I do think this place needs to tweak their pizzas a bit.  Nonetheless, pizza is one of my favorite foods so I was still a happy camper.

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara from England permalink
    February 21, 2010 5:01 pm

    Ooh, great photos k-girl! I could go another ciocca’s sandwich right about now…

  2. February 22, 2010 11:29 am

    TELL ME MORE! what kind of sandwich did you get at Chiocca’s?!?! I’m a Richmond native and have never been – and LOVE a good sandwich. Can’t wait for a new spot in RIC.

  3. Laura permalink
    February 22, 2010 1:37 pm

    Oh I wish we could do it all again! So glad yall liked Chioccas, that was my neighborhood joint when I was in the condo across the street! Great post!

  4. Alison H. permalink
    February 22, 2010 3:23 pm

    The cocktail sounds divine. I recently tried a lavender infused cocktail somewhere in NYC as well – the bartender said it is all the rage in the high end mixology scene.

Leave a Reply

