Skip to content

Old Bay Steamed Shrimp

May 11, 2010

Now that the weather is finally warming up, all I can think about is seafood.  I’m craving it immensely.  I’m thinking about boiled crawfish and po’ boys in New Orleans, peel and eat shrimp at the beach, oysters at a martini bar, lobster rolls from Maine…well, you get the idea.

Last weekend I was particularly longing for peel and eat shrimp, which reminds me of trips to Destin, FL on the Gulf of Mexico growing up.  This time of year takes me back to when I was in school in the years of yonder down in Alabama.  I recall knowing at this time that only weeks separated me from the inevitable beach trip to mark the start of summer.  The last day of school always had cars waiting outside filled with beach gear ready to head strait down.  I also loved that most everyone went to the same beach, so it was hard to not run into friends from home—especially when you headed to my favorite beach restaurant, The Back Porch, in Destin.  Everyone flocked here for the awesome seafood and fun atmosphere.

One of my favorite dishes to get at the beach restaurants like The Back Porch is peel and eat shrimp.  As I perused The Lobster Place in Chelsea Market, I spotted some fresh shrimp brought strait up from the Gulf of Mexico.  Well, I’ll be damned—it was meant to be!  So of course I ordered up some of those shrimp, but now what?  I hadn’t made peel and eat shrimp before so I walked around the store to see if they had Zatarain’s Shrimp and Crab Boil seasoning (a New Orleans staple).  No such luck.  I then spotted Old Bay Seasoning, which screams summer to me.  Mmm…this could take me somewhere.  Sure enough, they had a simple recipe on the container for steaming shrimp.  Again, it was meant to be.

One of the things I particularly like about this recipe is just how quick it is to make.  I can have this entire meal made in 10 minutes from start to finish.  Not to mention, I love the Old Bay seasoned sauce that the dish ends with.  I poured some into my bowl just to make sure the shrimp could hold as much as possible with each bite.  With a nice glass of dry white wine, this makes the perfect summer meal.

So here you go.  You can of course also find this recipe on the Old Bay Seasoning container.  This makes enough for 2 servings.

  • 2 tbsp Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1-2 bay leaves (my own addition)
  • 1 lb shrimp, in shells
  1. In saucepan, combine first three ingredients and bring to a boil.
  2. Add the shrimp and stir gently.
  3. Cover and steam until tender, about 3-5 minutes. (Make sure you do not overcook the shrimp or they will get tough.)
  4. Serve, pouring some of the sauce over the shrimp if you desire.

Cheers!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:45 am

    The memories you just brought back!! I love it and can’t wait to peel some shrimp! Thank you!

  2. May 12, 2010 8:53 am

    i am not a seafood person, but those photos are so gorgeous i would almost reconsider.

    xo Alison

  3. Carrie permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:21 am

    Mmmm… My mouth is watering just thinking about this! Can’t wait to try!

  4. June 10, 2010 4:23 pm

    Looks delish!

    If you’re wondering what to do with the rest of your Old Bay, try finding a copy of Cooking With Old Bay. I’m pretty sure it’s out of print, but copies do show up on eBay from time to time. My wife and I have been using it for about 15 years, and a few of the recipes have become family favorites — particularly Fettuccine Baltimore.

    • June 11, 2010 8:30 pm

      Thanks for letting me know about the Old Bay book! It also sounds like a great gift idea!

  5. September 16, 2010 1:06 am

    You can never go wrong with a lil’ Old Bay…. love the stuff!

Leave a Reply

